30
Nov
09

Easy

How should I be?
Amazing, super,
wonderful and fine?

Has magic suddenly
taken me over
trasformed me
into a super Fairy,
all powerful,
and all immune?

I can say, fine, great,
I am wonderful.
but then that would be a lie.

Never in my life
have I been so encouraged
to pretend that truth
is not important.

Never have I felt
so disbelieved
by those around me.

Others feeling comfortable
with my answer is much more
paramount to good
conversation, and easy
human interaction.

I do wish it was
easy to lie for you,
but it is not.

None of this is easy.

3 Responses to “Easy”


  1. 2010/01/02 at 12:45 pm

    Humans are great at costuming reality…although from reading your tags, our pain is content different, yet I get what you are saying.I say stuff just to stay connected and it is often a lie. Your words are relevant and true in their simplicity. thanks

  2. 2010/01/28 at 5:45 am

    Hi AnnaBeth… Thank you for sharing this. You are so right… It’s easier to say “I’m fine” and muster a smile than to tell people how you’re really feeling. I often think about how the phrase “how are you?” has become more of a greeting than a real question. Like something you say out of habit, but don’t really mean. It’s a sad truth today in the fast-food world of instant gratification, but what I wouldn’t give to slow things down… To go back to simpler times when conversation, not social networking, was the order of the day.

    Anyway, I don’t want to go off on a rambling tangent! Just wanted to say hello. I’ve been reading some of your other poems, and I look forward to seeing some new stuff, if and when you can post. Take care!

    Peace and light,
    Janine

    • 2010/01/29 at 9:07 pm

      Thanks so much for the comment. I appreciate your take on it. I actually have quite a few things to get up here…..maybe this weekend. I just found your sight and am enjoying your work as well. I think in poetry. I think it is such a natural way to write. I keep trying to get my self to write something that might be more profitable, but I go back to it immediately. Oh well….I love it, and if I do what I love that is what is important. Take care and have a peaceful weekend.

      AnnaBeth


Leave a Reply

